Skinny

When I was in year 9, there was a huge hoo-ha about size 0 and body shape. I remember this really well because despite being healthy, I was a thin and yet-to-develop 13 year old, forever being playfully told by girls at school that if I ate more my boobs would grow and to ‘go get fat’ because I was thinner than everyone else. I knew that it was jokey but I found it hurtful and as a young teenager I sometimes found these comments difficult to deal with. I’m not at all suggesting that I was being bullied over my weight but the result of the ‘no more skinny’ movement hurt my confidence and at times made me feel completely inadequate.

The fight against size 0 was heavily reported and in almost every magazine the celebrities that were deemed too thin were shunned to the ‘what were they thinking?’ box with a big red cross through their picture. From every angle the media was bombarding us with anti-skinny propaganda and under-weight models were fast becoming the issue of the day. I’m incredibly glad that magazine covers started displaying healthy women in place of those obviously far too thin but somehow the firing line grew so that now thin was just as repulsive.

At this time I was everything that this campaign was trying to change. On Facebook I was seeing that the popular girls from my year had liked groups like ‘Real girls have boobs and curves not skin and bones’ or leaving comments on a thin celebrity’s page saying how skinny and ugly they were. Although these weren’t directly aimed at me, I was aware that I would have been placed in the ‘skin and bones’ category therefore securing my rating as ugly.

It was as if the original message had been lost and instead of promoting health by using heavier than size 0 models, naturally thin people were being negatively portrayed as something hideous that needed fixing. It had gone the other way in a very short space of time and I was noticing that pictures of overweight women with a proud statement about their size written underneath were getting thousands of likes on Facebook whereas thin people were getting rude and sometimes abusive comments. Suddenly society, or at least the society that I was exposed to, was turning into a scary and hateful place.

For many young girls seeing a positive attitude towards their body shape must have made them feel really good about themselves which of course is fantastic, it’s just such a shame that this positivity sometimes came at the expense of another girl’s confidence. A healthy person is always going to be attractive and whether that’s a size 6 or a size 16 makes no difference. Sadly though, I still hear negative comments towards thin people which if directed at a fat person would be seen as offensive and mean. Either way, it’s never appropriate to comment on an individual’s weight.

I feel that at the moment size 0 isn’t as much of an issue as it has been in the past but I do think that there is still a problem with how women perceive other women who are thin. Still I hear comments about how a ‘real’ woman should have big boobs or a big bum or a curvy figure and that’s just not the case. I’m not less of a ‘real’ woman because I don’t have a Kim Kardashian bum and I should never be made to feel this way, especially not by other females!

Discussion about weight and body size is ongoing and I imagine it always will be. For now though, we can all be more accepting of others whether large or small and remember that even the most insignificant comment can affect other people, especially young girls, in a way that we could never imagine.

Leave a Reply

