Reality TV

My love affair with reality TV began with Keeping Up With The Kardashians, recommended to me by a girl from school who promised tantrums, tears and an awful lot of money; a claim that did not disappoint.

The first episode I saw involved Kourtney giving her sister Khloé a bikini wax so that she would look peachy for her boyfriend. Sadly, (for Khloé, not for the viewers) a terrible accident occurred when Kourtney burnt Khloé’s downstairs meaning that she could hardly walk (let alone do anything else). I laughed hard enough at this episode to justify the next 4 years of viewing, time which I can assure you has not been wasted.

Not only have I had the honour of watching Keeping Up With The Kardashians, the flagship show involving the entire family, but also the many spin-offs; Kourtney and Kim Take New York, Kourtney and Kim Take Miami, Kourtney and Khloé take Miami, Khloé and Lamar and later this year I look forward to The Hamptons. Such a thing as too much Kardashian? Absolutely not!

But what actually happens on these numerous shows you ask; the honest answer, not a lot. Aside from bitch-fights, cosmetic surgery, unnecessary tantrums and a lot of therapy sessions, not much really happens- each show’s charm comes from the self-affirmation that it provides for the viewer. In one episode of Keeping Up With The Kardashians, Khloé told Kourtney that she knew an old man who has driven from America to Italy- not even my GCSE A grade made me feel as proud of my geography skills as I did at that moment.

As well as their lack of general knowledge, we also get to marvel at the sheer amount of names beginning with the letter ‘K’. Kourtney, Kim, Khloé, Kendall, Kylie, mother Kris and Kim’s husband Kanye. It was almost a relief when Kim and Kanye named their daughter North, until of course we realised that the name North West is even more ridiculous that it would have been had they stuck with the Ks.

But wait, there are even more reality shows that I love to watch! Here Comes Honey Boo Boo (a show about a child Pageant Queen from Georgia), Toddlers and Tiaras (the show that Honey Boo Boo first appeared on), The Real Housewives of Orange County (and all of the other RH spin offs), Sweet 16 (the 16thbirthday parties of the rich) and my most recent discovery Extreme Couponing (a show literally about extreme couponing).

But WHY you all cry out, WHY do you watch this useless TV featuring stupid Americans doing pointless things? I watch it because it’s guaranteed to make me laugh and because no matter how awful I feel I can always rely on a Kardashian or a Real Housewife to make me feel better about my life by observing theirs. If you’re still having doubts I recommend watching 5 minutes of Here Comes Honey Boo Boo and I promise you will be a converted reality TV fan.

Leave a Reply

