Music Circa The Early Noughties

I’m not even going to pretend that Saturday Night by Whigfield isn’t one of my favourite songs nor am I going to deny that it is on my phone at the moment. Yes, this song which I acquired from my Fox Kids: Party Album circa the early noughties is just one of the gems that I’ve spent an awful lot of my teen years listening to.

Other such monstrosities that I regularly blare down my headphones include School’s Out by Daphne and Celeste (always a hit at school discos and at home during the summer holidays), I’ll Never Stop by N’Sync and of course, Oops I Did It Again by Britney.

I often find myself wondering what happened to music, desperately trying to uncover a theory behind why it’s no-longer as good as it was in the 2000’s. Forget Mozart, surely McFly are the greatest musicians to have ever graced this earth? Their only competition in my mind is S-Club (both 7 and the Juniors).

That’s the beauty of nostalgia, it sugar coats even the deadliest of sins. The fact of the matter is that all of this music is crap and was probably passed its best when it was released.

Despite this, I don’t think there will ever be a day when I stop proclaiming that Cotton Eye Joe by Rednex is the ultimate party tune and in homage to B*Witched, I will continue to try my hardest to wear double-denim as often as possible.

Leave a Reply

