A short Q and A with a bookseller | Grace Latter

I have such a great time talking to other booksellers so I thought it would be fun to start a Q and A series. My first guest is Grace Latter!

image1-11
. Where do you work and what is your role?
I work at Waterstones Hastings (@WstonesHastings on Twitter and @waterstoneshastings on Insta!). I am a standard bookseller working around 3 days a week, and someday I hope to be awarded an ‘expert’ title in a genre!

2. How long have you worked there?
Only a few weeks now! I’m a delighted newbie!

3. How did you get your job?
I was sick of my previous job, and the nastiness that was occurring there. It wasn’t the right fit for me any more. So I strode purposefully into my local Waterstones and asked if they had any jobs going – I’d also tweeted them to ask as well, keen much! – and they asked for my CV. I emailed it to them that evening and had a lovely interview the following week! And I think the day after the interview when I got a call, the manager calling me was just as excited as I was!

4. What is your favourite thing about bookselling?
People listen to my recommendations and trust my opinions. Sometimes they even buy a book I tell them they should. That gives me the warmest fuzziest feelings.

5. What tips do you have for aspiring booksellers?
A classic life tip that applies here is BE YOU. Revel in your love of the written word and chatter with customers and colleagues about your shared interests. Don’t hide or shy away! Also put your personality into the shelves, face out and write rec cards for the books you love most.

Follow Grace:  twitter  |  facebook  |  blog  |  instagram

2 thoughts on “A short Q and A with a bookseller | Grace Latter

Leave a Reply

